Classic Cars and a Dog

It was a party on wheels at the Windward Mall in Kaneohe town, Oahu, Hawaii, and all the classy guys and dolls were there—Bel Air, Mustang, Model-T, Corvette and the rest—decked out in their finest chrome, perfect paint jobs polished till you could see your reflection, and scandalous enough to permit a lingering look under the hood. My fisheye lens and I were covering the event and getting a little too close for the comfort of one four-legged partygoer who eyed me suspiciously. Anyway, the motor oil was flowing freely, and everyone was getting a little tipsy on the nostalgia. All that finery was making me a little giddy, too, and I forgot to jot down make, model and year. So I turn to you, dear reader, to help me out. Do you recognize any of the subjects in these photos?

classic car show

classic car show

classic car show

classic car show, interior

classic car show

classic car show, detail

classic car show, attendee

Categories: cars, Hawaii, History, Photography, Stock Photography, Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 20 Comments

Post navigation

20 thoughts on “Classic Cars and a Dog

  1. Great cars, and what a backdrop. While I am a petrolhead (as we say in New Zealand), the makes and models of these don’t automatically come to me. You can see from the badges though that there’s at least one Ford – I think that’s a blue oval? – and a couple of Chevvies.

    Like

  2. You say petrolhead and we say gearhead (I think). I’m neither, but I do love the look of classic cars. I think I’m an architecture head since a beautiful car (or any structure) is an architectural work of art. Thanks for the tip on the Ford. I’ll watch for the blue oval. If I remember correctly, the red detail shot might be a Mustang. Next time I’ll have my notebook handy. Btw, I love New Zealand. Have toured North Island in a campervan. Will do a post on that eventually.

    Like

  3. great photos, as usual.

    Like

  4. What a fab location!

    Like

    • It’s a fake backdrop…..just kidding. Those mountains frame the whole windward side of our island, all nicely weathered and craggy looking. So when is a parking lot not just a parking lot? When it’s on a Pacific island🙂

      Like

  5. If I were just the least little bit mechanically inclined, I would have a 1964½ Mustang. The problem is that I just don’t like carburetors.

    Like

    • A 1964 and a half? Is there such a thing? Even so, I like it🙂. In my novel, my protagonist drives a classic Mustang. Maybe I’ll make it a 1964-1/2 Mustang🙂 Thanks for the idea. That should have readers scratching their heads.
      I did have a 1968 Olds Cutlass Supreme for many years until it became too expensive to repair. It was a big, powerful car, and I got it for cheap just when I needed cheap transport, but I let it go just before gas prices went through the roof. It got 9 miles to the gallon (you can’t go too far on an island), but was a dream to drive. That car and I had some adventures together. I still miss it.

      Like

      • The first Mustang was a mid-year model. It came out in March or April of 1965 instead of September 1964 or September 1965. Thus, amongst car fans, it’s called a 1964½.

        Like

      • Well, I’ll be! I thought you were pulling my leg. I’ll definitely tuck that bit of information away for future use. Thanks for enlightening me.

        Like

  6. What a fabulous and most colourful collection of great car shots! Would love to be able to help out on names and models etc but I am hopeless although I like to think I might recognise the sound of a Mustang if only because I hear them before they come into view!

    Like

    • Patti, I can see you appreciate the beauty of classic cars, too. And actually that’s pretty good if you can recognize the “sound” of a particular motor coming your way.

      Like

  7. These are some great classics!!!

    Like

  8. very cool images – I love that detailing in the second last one

    Like

  9. Those were great! I liked the first one the best, although the attendee shot was pretty good. Just a little out of sorts with you though eh?

    Nancy

    Like

    • Ha! Yep, she was a little put out with me. With a fisheye lens, I had to get just a few inches from her nose to take the shot. That was definitely too close for comfort🙂

      Like

    • I find that when photographing dogs and cats, it’s always good to have an assistant (especially cats b/c they don’t obey when you say, “sit.”🙂 Your dog is quite a beauty. And yes, a close-up flash is pretty uncomfortable (I think I’d close my eyes, too🙂 ) I’m often called to photograph portraits of pets in their homes, sometimes in the evening, so must use flash, but it’s away from the camera so they’re not looking right at it. I’m sure that helps.

      Like

Your feedback is appreciated. Speak.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Captured by Aishwarya

Thoughts captured by my pen, images captured by my cam

Recipe in a Bottle

Connecting to Friends, Old and New, Through Recipes, Gardens, and Dinner Parties

Life in Minutes

Living in the moment

GINGERSHOUTS

Set your thoughts free

China Icons - your guide to life, work and travel in China

Natural wonders, jaw-dropping engineering, delicious food, bustling cities. Ancient temples, glamorous fashionistas, visionary thinkers. This is the site to meet China's icons - past, present and still to come

The Showers of Blessing

Giving and Receiving Blessings

Bon Voyage

Traveler & photographer with a passion for everything

TravellersPlanet

Jennifer Crites

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

kelzbelzphotography

My journey - The good, bad and the ugly

The New 3 Rs: Retire, Recharge, Reconnect

What I'm going to do for the rest of my life.

Juju Films

Cutting edge Multimedia Programming

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

