Weekly Photo Challenge: Inside

Inside a Turkish carpet factory sales room

They’re beautiful. They’re beguiling. They have cachet. They’re well made. They’re easy to clean. They’re hard to resist. You want one, but they’re not cheap. The sales staff brings you tea and goodies to eat as the head salesman extolls the virtues of his carpets, and his assistants roll them out one by one.

Categories: culture, Photography, Shopping, Stock Photography, Travel, Travel: Turkey | Tags: , , , , , , , , | 16 Comments

Post navigation

16 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Inside

  1. These rugs are beautiful. I love the look of one of these large carpets in a family or living room; it just says comfortable to me.

    Like

  2. i love those carpets! i love the colours and patterns , i want that big one on the wall behind the blokes🙂 have a super day xx

    Like

    • You and me both, Kizzy. I had my eye on the red and blue one, front right, but in a size large. Unfortunately I didn’t have an extra couple of thousand dollars at the ready.

      Like

  3. Did you succumb?

    Like

  4. Yes but would you buy a used car from them? Fab photo as always

    Like

    • Thank you, D. I always look forward to your feedback, especially on anything Turkish. As for the used car…Ha! They’re pretty slick salesmen, but doubtful I would buy a used car from anyone in Turkey after your hilarious descriptions of Turkish driving habits.

      Like

    • If there’s such a word as Turkey-o-phyle (someone who inhales all things Turkish), that’s me. I’ve latched on to the country like it was my own. Yes, I can wax poetic about other countries I’ve visited, but there’s something special about Turkey, and I want the world to know it and to like it as much as I do. I so appreciate that you are always so supportive of my posts. Actually, whenever I do a new Turkey post, I think of you. And, I tell your stories to my husband and at dinner parties. I hope you don’t mind.

      Like

  5. I feel like the challenge is getting away when the salesmen begin their pursuit. They are quite clever! My boyfriend works in Sultanahmet, so I have to battle the pitches all the time!🙂

    Like

    • So true. You have to be quite clever back at getting away from them. In Sultanahmet, to avoid all the pitches for restaurants in the evening, we each carried a doner kebap sandwich around with us. It worked quite well. You must have some pretty good avoidance techniques in your repertoire by now. Care to share?

      Like

      • Haha! Carrying food is amazing! I’ve learned the tilt of the head and click that means “no.” If someone is really pushing, I’ll say, “Kolay gelsin.” You may have heard this a lot. It means something like, “May it come easy.” You say it to people who are working. Sometimes it has the opposite effect when a blonde American knows Turkish, but I take my chances.🙂 Love the pic.

        Like

    • Oh dear, now I will have to learn some Turkish and probably pronounce it horribly. The only thing I can really say is Galatasaray, because soccer games were on while I was there and that was our guide’s team. We had to say “Go Galatasaray” every morning when we boarded the bus. Apparently it didn’t help b/c they lost eventually. I wonder if Google has a pic of that head tilt. I could probably get that right. So glad you loved the pic. I like to think my love of Turkey comes through in my photos.

      Like

      • You “tsk” like a disapproving parent and raise your chin a bit. It seems a bit like a snotty teenager at first, but it’s everywhere. Sometimes I still shake my head, “No, ” like we do in the midwest, but that’s quite a tell of a tourist. Turkey has been a wonderful place for me too.

        Like

    • Oh yes, now that you explain it, I have seen (and heard) it often. Thank you. I can do that. Must practice. I try not to act too much like a tourist wherever I go, being careful with style of dress and so on. In Turkey I always wore 3/4-length or long sleeves so that the elders wouldn’t disapprove of me too much. Knowing mannerisms and a bit of the language really helps.

      Like

Your feedback is appreciated. Speak.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Captured by Aishwarya

Thoughts captured by my pen, images captured by my cam

Recipe in a Bottle

Connecting to Friends, Old and New, Through Recipes, Gardens, and Dinner Parties

Life in Minutes

Living in the moment

GINGERSHOUTS

Set your thoughts free

China Icons - your guide to life, work and travel in China

Natural wonders, jaw-dropping engineering, delicious food, bustling cities. Ancient temples, glamorous fashionistas, visionary thinkers. This is the site to meet China's icons - past, present and still to come

The Showers of Blessing

Giving and Receiving Blessings

Bon Voyage

Traveler & photographer with a passion for everything

TravellersPlanet

Jennifer Crites

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

kelzbelzphotography

My journey - The good, bad and the ugly

The New 3 Rs: Retire, Recharge, Reconnect

What I'm going to do for the rest of my life.

Juju Films

Cutting edge Multimedia Programming

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

