Tropical Moon

Super Moon Rising

How could I not think of John Fogerty’s “there’s a bad moon on the rise” when the Super Moon put in an appearance a few weeks ago. I had planned for this shoot: which lens to use, where it was going to come up, which location would be best—remembering that it will look biggest at the horizon, then smaller-size itself as it rises in the sky. After much debate as to location, I chose Kahala Beach (Oahu), where I calculated it would appear off the tip of Hanauma Bay’s cinder cone. The other plus to this location: going early and lounging in the Kahala Resort’s beachside restaurant for Happy Hour (cranberry juice and seasoned fries for me), and feeling grateful for a clear sky with few horizon clouds. It was pretty much a perfect evening.

 

 

 

Categories: Hawaii, Photography, Stock Photography, Travel | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Tropical Moon

  1. Wow…..looks otherworldly! On that same day (May 5), my husband and I were at the Full Moon Party in Thailand. I was later told that full moon was the brightest of the year. Lucky for you, you got a killer shot…..lucky for us, we got a killer party, haha!🙂

    Like

  2. Liana, I like that description: otherworldly, as I’m picturing the sea lapping at the shore on a distant planet. I was pretty happy with the shot, but let’s see—watching a super moon from a party in Thailand or a beach in Hawaii? Hmmmmm! Tough choice.

    Like

  3. Were you able to get shots on Tuesday of the Venus drip? I was doing my docent thing, but my daughter got to view it at the Bishop.

    Like

  4. Unfortunately no. The Venus transit passed me by (lol). I was probably here, working on my blog. A lot of photographers I know did get it, though. It looked as though someone had punched a small, round black hole in the sun. What did your daughter think of it?

    Like

  5. Wow. That is gorgeous. It is almost too perfect to be a photograph, isn’t it?

    Like

  6. Thanks so much, Donna. Hawaii can seem like that in photos sometimes—too beautiful to be real. But for me, and the people standing on the beach watching the supermoon-rise with me, it was real. I usually work on my images in Photoshop, but only to bring out the beauty I saw and the experience I had while taking the shot.

    Like

  7. janedwellable

    Hi Jennifer,
    My name is Jane and I’m with Dwellable.
    I was looking for blog posts about Kahala Beach to share on our site and I came across your post…If you’re open to it, drop me a line at jane(at)dwellable(dot)com.
    Hope to hear from you🙂
    Jane

    Like

Your feedback is appreciated. Speak.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Captured by Aishwarya

Thoughts captured by my pen, images captured by my cam

Recipe in a Bottle

Connecting to Friends, Old and New, Through Recipes, Gardens, and Dinner Parties

Life in Minutes

Living in the moment

GINGERSHOUTS

Set your thoughts free

China Icons - your guide to life, work and travel in China

Natural wonders, jaw-dropping engineering, delicious food, bustling cities. Ancient temples, glamorous fashionistas, visionary thinkers. This is the site to meet China's icons - past, present and still to come

The Showers of Blessing

Giving and Receiving Blessings

Bon Voyage

Traveler & photographer with a passion for everything

TravellersPlanet

Jennifer Crites

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

kelzbelzphotography

My journey - The good, bad and the ugly

The New 3 Rs: Retire, Recharge, Reconnect

What I'm going to do for the rest of my life.

Juju Films

Cutting edge Multimedia Programming

Gotta Find a Home

Conversations with Street People

